Skip Navigation Links  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
Geography and Map Reading Room (Geography & Map Division)
  Home >> Philip Lee Phillips Map Society
PLP Occasional Paper No. 7

Philip Lee Phillips Map Society
of the Library of Congress

The Philip Lee Phillips Society Map Society of the Library of Congress has been established to further develop, enhance and promote the collections of the Geography and Map Division by encouraging financial donations to supplement appropriated funds for the acquisition of rare maps; stimulating interest among map collectors, map producers, geographers, cartographers, and historians in order to make the vast resources of the nation's premier cartographic and geographic collections more widely available; facilitating gifts and bequests of significant geographic and cartographic materials in order to further develop its collections; and advancing the Geography and Map Division's publication, education, and exhibition programs.

The Society is named in honor of Philip Lee Phillips (1857-1924), the first Superintendent of Maps when the Hall of Maps and Charts was established in 1897.

View the entire brochure as a pdf document. To print a membership application form and mail in.
You are now able to support the Philip Lee Phillips Society with an

To obtain membership and activities information of the Society please contact:
Ryan Moore
Executive Secretary
p) 202-707-7779
f) 202/707-8531

Copies of our latest cartobibliography may be obtained through our donation and membership process:
Reading Imperial Cartography
Reading Imperial Cartography: Ming-Qing Historical Maps in the Library of Congress

Publications & Events

Occasional Papers
Special Publications
Annual Conferences

Steering Committee:

Academic Advisors:

George Tobolowsky, Texas (Chair) Ronald Grim, Boston Public Library
Dianne Powell, Texas (Vice Chair) Alice Hudson, formerly New York Public Library
Wesley A. Brown, Colorado Mark Monmonier, Syracuse University
Robert David, Florida Mary Pedley, University of Michigan
William B. Ginsberg, New York Dennis Reinhartz, University of Texas - Arlington
Arthur Holzheimer, Illinois Norman J. W. Thrower, University of California - Los Angeles
Jay Lester, North Carolina Cordell D. K. Yee, St. John's College, Annapolis
Glen McLaughlin, California Susan Schulten, University of Denver
Kenneth Nebenzahl, Illinois  
Richard Pflederer, Virginia  
Seymour I. Schwartz, New York  
J. Thomas Touchton, Florida  
James Walker, Oregon  
William Wooldridge, Virginia  

Ex Officio:

Ralph E. Ehrenberg (Chief, Geography and Map Division, 2011-present)
John R. Hébert (Chief, Geography and Map Division, 1999-2011)
John A. Wolter (Chief, Geography and Map Division, 1978-1991)
Top of Page Top of Page
  Home >> Philip Lee Phillips Map Society
  The Library of Congress >> Researchers
  September 2, 2014
Legal | External Link Disclaimer

Contact Us:  
Ask a Librarian