NLS home  >  Music home  >  Braille Music Transcribers

NLS Music Circulars

Circular Number 4
Braille Music Transcribers

Updated March 2013

The following Library of Congress-certified braille music transcribers are willing to braille music materials for individuals. All arrangements for transcribing, including financial, must be made between the transcriber and the braille reader. Upon receipt of the braille, an acknowledgment from the reader expressing appreciation is always appropriate.

Lindley L. Becker
204 37th Ave. North, #246
St. Petersburg, FL 33704
Tel (727) 827-5353
Fax (727) 327-4395
bayshoreop@aol.com

Karen Keeling Bird
1132 Sabron Dr.
East Lansing, MI  48823
birdk@msu.edu

Lois Bitler
1 A Red Fox Ln.
Flagler Beach, FL 32136
(386) 439-0597
loflobit@aol.com

Shad Butikofer
IDOC No. 80856
c/o Marshall Bautista
P.O. Box 70010
Boise, ID  83707
marshall.bautistajr@correctionscorp.com
(208)-331-2760 Ext. 2291

Kathleen Cantrell
225 W. 99th Street
New York, NY 10025
Kathleen@spellboundbraille.com

Sylvia Clark
1723 Wendy Dr.
Edinburg, TX 78539
(956) 381-1537
sclark6144@aol.com

Louis Cutwright
c/o Lennie Miller
Anamosa Braille Center
406 North High Street
P.O. Box 10
Anamosa, IA  52205-0010
lennie.miller@iastind.state.ia.us

Christina Davidson
360 Hall Rd.
Crownsville, MD  21032
410-923-0313
tinatd@comcast.net

Cheryl Davis
c/o Delores Billman
Mountain View Braille Facility
2305 Ransom Rd.
Gatesville, TX 76528-9399

Christine Dodson
c/o Delores Billman
Mountain View Braille Facility
2305 Ransom Rd.
Gatesville, TX 76528-9399

Bettie Downing
918 Ridgewood Cove North
Niceville, FL 32578
(850) 897-3383
bnbdowning70@embarqmail.com

Katy L. Dumdie
c/o Delores Billman, Supervisor
Mountain View Braille Facility
2305 Ransom Rd.
Gatesville, TX 76528-2962

Robert Ego
1020 B Calle De Los Amigos
Apartment B-408
Santa Barbara, CA 93105
(805) 569-1306

Abraham Feleke
Delaware Correctional Center
1181 Paddock Rd.
Smyrna, DE  19977-9679
Contact: Anne Lattanzi
302-577-2083
anne.lattanzi@state.de.us

Dan Geminder
211 Rouge Rd.
Winnipeg, MB
R3K 1J6
Canada
(204) 896-8620
geminder@mts.net

Elizabeth Gensler
4120 Lytle Dr.
Wooster, OH 44691
(330) 345-4595
Genslerbrl@sssnet.com

Michael Goehring
c/o Lennie Miller
Anamosa Braille Center
406 N. High St., P. O. Box 10
Anamosa, IA  52205-0010
lennie.miller@iastind.state.ia.us

Ed Godfrey
P.O. Box 20038
Seattle, WA 98102-1038
edgodfrey@seanet.com

Terry Harris
Folsom Project for the
Visually Impaired
c/o Officer Bob Schmitz
P.O. Box 6422
Folsom, CA 95763-6422
(916) 351-3032

Elizabeth (Betsy) Heiserman
520 Garden Street
Crestview, FL 32536
321-514-5178
betsyheiserman@aol.com
braillescriber@aol.com

Dennis Helwig
OSCI Braille
P.O. Box 3310
Oshkosh, WI 54903
Contact: Kurt Pamperin
kurt.pamperin@wisconsin.gov
(920) 231-4010, Ext. 2208

Gregory Hilliard
c/o Jennifer Smith
New Castle Correctional Facility
P.O. Box A
New Castle, IN  47362
jensmith@geogroup.com

Melissa Hirshson
24 Whitman Rd. #B-3
Waltham, MA 02453
781-790-1682
lissarh@gmail.com

Jeffrey T. Hunter
1742 Alfred Dr.
Apt. 2E
Luxemburg, WI 54217

Jane Hurwitz
29 Kenwood Circle
Bloomfield, CT  06002-3435
jphurwitz@yahoo.com

Sandra Hutto
c/o Delores Billman, supervisor
Mountain View Braille Facility
2305 Ransom Rd.
Gatesville, TX  76528

Mildred Irwig
16536 Dearborn Dr.
Stilwell, KS 66085-9268
(913) 897-9533
musicbraille@kc.rr.com

David B. Jackson
305 Windsor Ave.
Brightwaters, NY 11718
(631) 969-3411
djackson@mail.nasboces.org

Joshua Jameson
Oshkosh State Correctional Institution
P.O. Box 3310
Oshkosh, WI  54903
Contact: Kurt Pamperin
kurt.pamperin@wisconsin.gov

Michael D. Keary
c/o Lennie Miller
Anamosa Braille Center
406 North High Street
P.O. Box 10
Anamosa, IA  52202-0010
lennie.miller@iastind.state.ia.us

Laura Kesel
741 Valleyview Rd.
Pittsburgh, PA 15243
(412) 561-8635
lck.pgh@worldnet.att.net

Josh Larkey
IDOC No. 89576
c/o Marshall Bautista, Jr.
P.O. Box 70010
Boise, ID  83707
marshall.bautistajr@correctionscorp.com

Mujahid Latif
Michigan Braille Transcribing Fund
3510 North Elm Street
Jackson, MI 49201
(517) 780-5096
Email contact through Francelia Wonders at francelia.wonders@mi-braille.org
or
Cindy Olmstead at cmvddo@aol.com.

Heidi Lehmann
9637 Elm St.
Castorland, NY  13620
(315) 376-0136
heidi@bach2braille.com

Fran Libowitz
1723 Gerritsen Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11229
(718) 375-0298 (home)
(212) 821-9689 (work)
dwanei@aol.com
braille@lighthouse.org

Dorothy MacRae
12759 SE 91st Terrace Rd.
Summerfield, FL 34491
(352) 347-1997

Julie Nichols
(May to August)
271 Plank Rd.
Vergennes, VT 05491
(802) 877-6802
(September to April)
101 Fairview Ave.
Hartwell, GA 30643
(706) 376-5802
(706) 717-0127
jnicholsjulie@yahoo.com

Lucas Owens
c/o Allison Marshall
7076 Rd 55F
Torrington, WY  82240
AMARSH@wdoc.state.wy.us

David W. Parks
c/o Lennie Miller
Anamosa Braille Center
406 N. High St., P.O. Box 10
Anamosa, IA  52205-0010
(800) 332-7922
lennie.miller@iastind.state.ia.us

Jeffrey David Rasmussen
4505 Holdrege Street
Lincoln, NE  68503
(402) 499-0719
jdrasbrl@gmail.com

Kent F. Ray
c/o Officer Bob Schmitz
Folsom Project for the
Visually Impaired
P. O. Box 6422
Folsom, CA 95763-6422
(916) 351-3032

Christina Robertson
4785 W. Road 2 South
Prescott, AZ  86305
robertsonPianoStudio@msn.com

Nancy Rowitt
8508 Redleaf Lane
Orlando, FL  32819-3927
nrowitt@yahoo.com

Yvonne M. Ryall
114 Killbuck Trail
Winchester, VA 22602
(540) 877-2069
yryall@aol.com

Victoria Scarborough
529 Silverbrook Dr.
Danville, KY 40422
(859) 236-7249 (home)
(859) 236-3863 (work)
victoria.scarborough@roadrunner.com

Lyale Shellman
Folsom Project for the
Visually Impaired
c/o Officer Bob Schmitz
P.O. Box 6422
Folsom, CA 95763-6422
(916) 351-3032

Lawrence R. Smith
(April - November)
440 North Arlington Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49006
(269) 381-4648
(December - March)
68 Midge Court
Bradenton Beach, FL 34217
(941) 778-7974
musicbrl@earthlink.net

John J. Strangis
51-40 30th Ave.
Building H1B
Woodside, NY 11377
(718) 726-7181

Ruth Nodder Wallace
2500 West Henderson Ave.
Apt. 225
Porterville, CA 93257
(559) 789-9394
RNW1942@netzero.net

Lindy Walton
4925 Paul Ave.
Madison, WI 53771
(608) 273-4457
lindywalton@tds.net

Jennifer Wheeler
1969 S. Starling Drive
Gilbert, AZ 85295-5857
jwheeler@seeitourway.org or
Jennifer.wheeler@asdb.az.gov

Athena Williams
KCIW Braille Services
P.O. Box 449
Pewee Valley, KY  40056-0449

Moonset Yu
664 Larkin Valley Rd.
Watsonville, CA 95076
(831) 331-7546
yus9@yahoo.com

Charlotte Zeman
1608 Zika Ave. NW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52405
(319) 396-8666

Associate Transcriber*

Curtis Nimmie
c/o Robert Eutz
Miami Correctional Facility
3038 W. 850 South
Bunker Hill, IN  46914-9810
(765) 689-8920, Ext. 6282
reutz@isbvik12.org

Kimberly King
c/o Jan Carroll
American Printing House for the blind
1839 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY  40206
(502) 899-2302
jcarroll@aph.org

Athena Williams
c/o Jan Carroll
American Printing House for the blind
1839 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY  40206
(502) 899-2302
jcarroll@aph.org

* Associate transcribers are certified for single line music only (e.g., flute, trumpet, clarinet).

Library of Congress Home      NLS Home     Comments about NLS to nls@loc.gov     About this site      Legal     Comments about this site to the NLS Reference Section

Posted on 2013-06-28