Home > Music > Braille Music Transcribers

NLS Music Circulars

Circular Number 4
Braille Music Transcribers

Updated November 2014

The following Library of Congress-certified braille music transcribers are willing to braille music materials for individuals. All arrangements for transcribing, including financial, must be made between the transcriber and the braille reader. Upon receipt of the braille, an acknowledgment from the reader expressing appreciation is always appropriate.

Lindley L. Becker
204 37th Ave. North, #246
St. Petersburg, FL 33704
Tel (727) 827-5353
Fax (727) 327-4395
bayshoreop@aol.com

Karen Keeling Bird
1132 Sabron Dr.
East Lansing, MI  48823
birdk@msu.edu

Lois Bitler
1 A Red Fox Ln.
Flagler Beach, FL 32136
(386) 439-0597
loflobit@aol.com

Shad Butikofer
IDOC No. 80856
c/o Marshall Bautista
P.O. Box 70010
Boise, ID  83707
marshall.bautistajr@correctionscorp.com
(208) 331-2760 Ext. 2291

Kathleen Cantrell
225 W. 99th Street
New York, NY 10025
Kathleen@spellboundbraille.com

Louis Cutwright
c/o Lennie Miller
Anamosa Braille Center
406 North High Street
P.O. Box 10
Anamosa, IA  52205-0010
lennie.miller@iowa.gov

Christina Davidson
360 Hall Rd.
Crownsville, MD  21032
410-923-0313
tinatd@comcast.net

Cheryl Davis
c/o Delores Billman
Mountain View Braille Facility
2305 Ransom Rd.
Gatesville, TX 76528-9399

Donald L. Diamond
OSCI, P.O. Box 3310
Oshkosh, WI 54903-3310
(920) 231-4010, ext. 2208
kurt.pamperin@wisconsin.gov

Christine Dodson
c/o Delores Billman
Mountain View Braille Facility
2305 Ransom Rd.
Gatesville, TX 76528-9399

Bettie Downing
918 Ridgewood Cove North
Niceville, FL 32578
(850) 897-3383
bnbdowning70@embarqmail.com

Katy L. Dumdie
c/o Delores Billman, Supervisor
Mountain View Braille Facility
2305 Ransom Rd.
Gatesville, TX 76528-2962

Kevin Dyal
c/o Janet Moore
Rehabilitation Services for the Blind
615 Howerton Court
P. O. Box 2320
Jefferson City, MO  65102
(573) 751-4719
janet.r.moore@dss.mo.gov

Robert Ego
1020 B Calle De Los Amigos
Apartment B-408
Santa Barbara, CA 93105
(805) 569-1306

Abraham Feleke
Delaware Correctional Center
1181 Paddock Rd.
Smyrna, DE  19977-9679
Contact: Anne Lattanzi
302-577-2083
anne.lattanzi@state.de.us

Toby Ferguson
Pheasantland Braille and Graphics
1600 North Drive
Sioux Falls, SD 57117
josh.murray@state.sd.us
(605) 367-5082

Chad T. Forbes
Spirit of Braille
9200 NE Shore Drive, Box 396
Indianola, WA 98342
SpiritOfBraille@gmail.com

Dan Geminder
211 Rouge Rd.
Winnipeg, MB
R3K 1J6
Canada
(204) 896-8620
geminder@mts.net

Elizabeth Gensler
4120 Lytle Dr.
Wooster, OH 44691
(330) 345-4595
Genslerbrl@sssnet.com

Michael Goehring
c/o Lennie Miller
Anamosa Braille Center
406 N. High Street, P. O. Box 10
Anamosa, IA  52205-0010
lennie.miller@iastind.state.ia.us

Ed Godfrey
P.O. Box 20038
Seattle, WA 98102-1038
edgodfrey@seanet.com

Michael J. Gunner
Grafton Braille Service Center
2500 S. Avon-Belden Road
Grafton, OH  44044
Donald.morrow@odrc.state.oh.us

Terry Harris
3020 Newtown Rd., Spc 32
Placerville, CA 95667
530-748-3776 and 530-305-7213
TLHarris@mail.com

Elizabeth (Betsy) Heiserman
520 Garden Street
Crestview, FL 32536
321-514-5178
betsyheiserman@aol.com
braillescriber@aol.com

Dennis Helwig
OSCI Braille
P.O. Box 3310
Oshkosh, WI 54903
Contact: Kurt Pamperin
kurt.pamperin@wisconsin.gov
(920) 231-4010, Ext. 2208

Gregory Hilliard
c/o Jennifer Smith
New Castle Correctional Facility
P.O. Box A
New Castle, IN  47362
jensmith@geogroup.com

Melissa Hirshson
24 Whitman Rd. #B-3
Waltham, MA 02453
781-790-1682
lissarh@gmail.com

Marjorie Holt
509 Third Avenue
Havre, MT 59501
margeholt@bresnan.net

Jeffrey T. Hunter
1742 Alfred Dr.
Apt. 2E
Luxemburg, WI 54217

Jane Hurwitz
29 Kenwood Circle
Bloomfield, CT  06002-3435
jphurwitz@yahoo.com

Sandra Hutto
c/o Delores Billman, supervisor
Mountain View Braille Facility
2305 Ransom Rd.
Gatesville, TX  76528

David B. Jackson
305 Windsor Ave.
Brightwaters, NY 11718
(631) 969-3411
djackson@mail.nasboces.org

Joshua Jameson
Oshkosh State Correctional Institution
P.O. Box 3310
Oshkosh, WI  54903
Contact: Kurt Pamperin
kurt.pamperin@wisconsin.gov

Patrick Janson
Braille Music and More
4566 Wilburn Drive
South Euclid, OH 44121
216-785-6833
patrick@braillemusicandmore.com

Robert Johnson
c/o Marshall Bautista, Jr.
P.O. Box 70010
Boise, ID         83707
marshall.bautistajr@cca.com

Michael D. Keary
c/o Lennie Miller
Anamosa Braille Center
406 North High Street
P.O. Box 10
Anamosa, IA  52202-0010
lennie.miller@iastind.state.ia.us

Laura Kesel
741 Valleyview Rd.
Pittsburgh, PA 15243
(412) 561-8635
lck.pgh@worldnet.att.net

Martin Kuemerle
Grafton Braille Service Center
2500 South Avon-Belden Road
Grafton, OH 44044
Donald.morrow@odrc.state.oh.us

Josh Larkey
IDOC No. 89576
c/o Marshall Bautista, Jr.
P.O. Box 70010
Boise, ID  83707
marshall.bautistajr@correctionscorp.com

Heidi Lehmann
9637 Elm Street
Castorland, NY  13620
(315) 376-0136
heidi@bach2braille.com

Fran Libowitz
1723 Gerritsen Ave.
Brooklyn, NY 11229
(718) 375-0298 (home)
(212) 821-9689 (work)
dwanei@aol.com
braille@lighthouse.org

Pamela Lorenz
Ogden Resource Center
2310 East 13th St.
Vancouver, WA 98661
(360) 696-6321, ext. 158

Dorothy MacRae
12759 SE 91st Terrace Rd.
Summerfield, FL 34491
(352) 347-1997

Spencer Martin #944771
c/o Angie Scott
Georgia Braille Transcribers
Central State Prison
4600 Fulton Mill Road
Macon, GA  31208
(478) 471-2313
vi6-centsp@dcor.state.ga.us

Michigan Braille Transcribing Fund
(www.impactbraille.net Link outside of Library of Congress)
3510 North Elm Street
Jackson, MI 49201
(517) 780-5096
Email through Cindy Olmstead at cindymbtf@gmail.com

Johnnie Moultrie, Jr.
c/o Michigan Braille Transcribing Fund
3510 North Elm Street
Jackson, MI 49201
(517) 780-5096
jmoultrie55@gmail.com

Julie Nichols
(May to August)
271 Plank Rd.
Vergennes, VT 05491
(802) 877-6802
(September to April)
101 Fairview Ave.
Hartwell, GA 30643
(706) 376-5802
(706) 717-0127
jnicholsjulie@yahoo.com

Lucas Owens
c/o Allison Marshall
7076 Rd 55F
Torrington, WY  82240
AMARSH@wdoc.state.wy.us

David W. Parks
c/o Lennie Miller
Anamosa Braille Center
406 N. High Street, P.O. Box 10
Anamosa, IA  52205-0010
(800) 332-7922
lennie.miller@iastind.state.ia.us

Jeffrey David Rasmussen
4505 Holdrege Street
Lincoln, NE  68503
(402) 499-0719
jdrasbrl@gmail.com

Kent F. Ray
c/o Officer Bob Schmitz
Folsom Project for the
Visually Impaired
P. O. Box 6422
Folsom, CA 95763-6422
(916) 351-3032

Paul Rhodes
c/o Angie Scott
Central State Prison
4600 Fulton Mill Road
Macon, GA     31208
VI6-CENTSP@dcor.state.ga.us

Christina Robertson
4785 W. Road 2 South
Prescott, AZ  86305
robertsonPianoStudio@msn.com

Nancy Rowitt
8508 Redleaf Lane
Orlando, FL  32819-3927
nrowitt@yahoo.com

Yvonne M. Ryall
114 Killbuck Trail
Winchester, VA 22602

Victoria Scarborough
529 Silverbrook Dr.
Danville, KY 40422
(859) 236-7249 (home)
(859) 236-3863 (work)
victoria.scarborough@roadrunner.com

Lyale Shellman
Folsom Project for the
Visually Impaired
c/o Officer Bob Schmitz
P.O. Box 6422
Folsom, CA 95763-6422
(916) 351-3032

Lawrence R. Smith
(April - November)
440 North Arlington Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49006
(269) 381-4648
(December - March)
68 Midge Court
Bradenton Beach, FL 34217
(941) 778-7974
musicbrl@earthlink.net

John J. Strangis
51-40 30th Ave.
Building H1B
Woodside, NY 11377
(718) 726-7181

Lindy Walton
4925 Paul Ave.
Madison, WI 53771
(608) 273-4457
lindywalton@tds.net

Jennifer Wheeler
1969 S. Starling Drive
Gilbert, AZ 85295-5857
jwheeler@seeitourway.org
Jennifer.wheeler@asdb.az.gov

Athena Williams
KCIW Braille Services
P.O. Box 449
Pewee Valley, KY  40056-0449

Moonset Yu
664 Larkin Valley Rd.
Watsonville, CA 95076
(831) 331-7546
yus9@yahoo.com

Charlotte Zeman
1608 Zika Ave. NW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52405
(319) 396-8666

Associate Transcriber*

Kenneth Brown
Grafton Braille Service Center
2500 South Avon-Belden Road
Grafton, OH  44044
Donald.morrow@odrc.state.oh.us

Curtis Nimmie
c/o Robert Eutz
Miami Correctional Facility
3038 W. 850 South
Bunker Hill, IN  46914-9810
(765) 689-8920, Ext. 6282
reutz@isbvik12.org

Kimberly King
c/o Jan Carroll
American Printing House for the blind
1839 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY  40206
(502) 899-2302
jcarroll@aph.org

Athena Williams
c/o Jan Carroll
American Printing House for the blind
1839 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206
(502) 899-2302
jcarroll@aph.org

* Associate transcribers are certified for single line music only (e.g., flute, trumpet, clarinet).


Library of Congress Home      NLS Home     Comments about NLS to nls@loc.gov     About this site      Legal     Comments about this site to the NLS Reference Section

Posted on 2014-11-24