skip navigationLibrary of Congress >> A/V Conservation >> National Film Preservation Board
NFPB logo About the Board Members of the Board Preservation Research National Film Registry National Film Preservation Foundation Other Film Resources Moving Image Archives

National Film Preservation Board

Current Members of the Board

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

  • Member: Sid Ganis
  • Alternate: Martha Coolidge

Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers

  • Member: Carol Lombardini
  • Alternate: Tracy Cahill

American Film Institute

  • Member: John Ptak
  • Alternate: Cecilia DeMille Presley

American Society of Cinematographers and International Cinematographers Guild

  • Member: Caleb Deschanel
  • Alternate: John Bailey

Association of Moving Image Archivists

  • Member: Tom Regal
  • Alternate: Wendy Shay

Directors Guild of America

  • Member: Martin Scorsese
  • Alternate: Curtis Hanson

Motion Picture Association of America

  • Member: Senator Chris Dodd
  • Alternate: Anna Soellner

National Association of Theater Owners

  • Member: Ted Pedas
  • Alternate: Patrick Corcoran

National Society of Film Critics

  • Member: David Kehr
  • Alternate: David Sterritt

Department of Film and Television of the Tisch School of the Arts at New York University

  • Member: Antonia Lant
  • Alternate: Dan Streible

Screen Actors Guild-American Federation of Television and Radio Artists (SAG-AFTRA)

  • Member: Richard Masur
  • Alternate: Valerie Yaros

Society for Cinema and Media Studies

  • Member: Matthew Bernstein
  • Alternate: Jennifer Horne

Society of Composers and Lyricists

  • Member: Alan Bergman
  • Alternate: Ray Colcord

United States members of the International Federation of Film Archives

  • Member: Susan Oxtoby, Pacific Film Archive
  • Alternate: Rajendra Roy, Museum of Modern Art

University Film and Video Association

Department of Film and Television of the School of Theater, University of California Los Angeles

  • Member: Bob Rosen
  • Alternate: Jan-Christopher Horak

Writers Guild of America






Pro Bono Counsel:

  • Eric Schwartz, Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP


What is the National Film Preservation Board?

The National Film Preservation Board (NFPB), most recently reauthorized through the Library of Congress Sound Recording and Film Preservation Programs Reauthorization Act of 2008 (Public Law 110-336; 2 U.S.C. 179) serves as a public advisory group to the Librarian of Congress. The Board consists of 44 members and alternates representing the film industry, archives, scholars, filmmakers and others who comprise the diverse American motion picture community. As its primary mission, the Board works to ensure the survival, conservation and increased public availability of America’s film heritage, including: advising the Librarian on the annual selection of films to the National Film Registry, and counseling the Librarian on ongoing development and implementation of the national film preservation plan.

>> Top of page

Library of Congress >> A/V Conservation >> National Film Preservation Board
( November 3, 2014 )
Legal | External Link Disclaimer